On Trump

I thought long and hard on how to address this issue, and came to the conclusion that I’m still too angry to make a well spoken thought-provoking post on it; I will however will say the following:

I am glad he’s being called out for his racism and inflammatory speeches, I’m glad that he is loosing business deals. I don’t wish him any ill (as I have never and will never wish on anyone), I do hope however that when all the dust have settled, people realize that our sad reality is that no, we don’t live in a post-racial world.

No country is an utopia of perfection, but no country is hell either. It’s however a shame that people are so frightened by change and by people who don’t look like them that it gives a platform for men (and women) like Trump to stand on.

I can only hope this will open a dialogue everywhere regarding racism, discrimination and racial profiling. In the mean time, here’s Depeche Mode with People are people, whose song has never been more appropriate.

So we’re different colours
And we’re different creeds
And different people have different needs
It’s obvious you hate me
Though I’ve done nothing wrong
I’ve never even met you so what could I have done

 

About Visenya Romanoff

What can I say? I am a mixed bag of everything, sprinkled with a tad of humor and a bit of fire and blood.
This entry was posted in Social Commentary and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On Trump

  1. Lisa says:

    Here’s my take on The Donald. I’m very happy he’s opened his mouth and let his vile thoughts spill out of them because now he has truly shown what a racist, hypocritical ass he is and I’m also happy he’s loudly and proudly declaring himself to be a Republican because he’s making it so much easier for them to lose in 2016. Although I know it won’t silence him, it may relegate him more to dealing with his businesses and less with issues he doesn’t understand thoroughly. Having him as President would initiate WWIII and I think he would be supremely happy to be the leader of that.

    • Totally, he’s a horrible person (we all knew that) but this just literally puts it out there on the open and it won’t be easily swept away with a “I’m sorry” because he’s using it as political platform.
      Unfortunately he does have support.

Leave a Reply

