Evangeline Lily doesn’t like the word ‘Feminism’

“I’m very proud of being a woman, and as a woman, I don’t even like the word feminism because when I hear that word, I associate it with women trying to pretend to be men, and I’m not interested in trying to pretend to be a man,” Evangeline said. “I don’t want to embrace manhood, I want to embrace my womanhood.”

drink2

Are you freaking kidding me? Listen, I identify as a feminist myself and will always baffle me when celebrities come with shit like this.

I’m not the most eloquent person regarding feminism, but I can tell you this: To me, feminism isn’t about being pretending, wanting or hating on men; but the sincere desire to live in a society were my value as a woman isn’t measured only by my waistline, face, or how good I am in the “womanly arts”. I want to be equal, I don’t see myself above men, I just want to be paid the same; have the same rights, enjoy my sexuality without being branded ‘a slut’ if I sleep with more than one guy. I want to have choices and not being limited career wise and being told “only boys/men do that.”

The fight to educate other women in feminism still lives, such as the ugly concept that to be a feminist you have to hate men, guess what, you don’t. Extremist do, but a great deal of women see feminism as a choice, which it is too; I’m no where near finished learning about feminism but I’m not afraid to label myself a feminist, because I want to do so and I want to stand up for myself and other women.

Now, on a more lighter note, can we please start a petition on female celebrities that they should not diss feminism at least until they see the dictionary’s definition of the word? Because I’m getting kind of tired of hearing about celebs dissing feminism and then messing it up big time.

Kind regards to my fellow feminist, Visenya.

About Visenya Romanoff

What can I say? I am a mixed bag of everything, sprinkled with a tad of humor and a bit of fire and blood.
This entry was posted in Celebrity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

