MQ: Harriet Beecher Stowe

 “The bitterest tears shed over graves are for words left unsaid and deeds left undone.”
~Harriet Beecher Stowe

 I think anyone who has lost a loved one can understand this quote. I picked this one because I’m still dealing with grief, I lost my grandfather a year ago; and I deeply regret not telling him how I considered him a father and how grateful I was everything he helped me when he could. I was however, fortunate enough to tell him that I loved him hours before his passing, and I’m thankful for that small little mercy, that he left knowing that I loved him.

And I also lost a great-aunt several days before my birthday, my grandmother’s younger sister. It was a shock and I was in denial over it for a while until it hit me, she was really gone; I would not get to hear her laugh again nor would I make her any of my french toast she loved anymore. I couldn’t even say goodbye to her as she lived in another city and I was ill and couldn’t travel.

So please, to anyone who reads this, if you have something to say to your loved ones, do so now. Love and laugh with them now, if you fight, forgive and do your best not to hold any rancor (easier said than done). Live and enjoy the company of those you love.

Because you’ll never know when they’ll be gone.

About Visenya Romanoff

What can I say? I am a mixed bag of everything, sprinkled with a tad of humor and a bit of fire and blood.
This entry was posted in Personal, Quotes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

