Introducing the “Monday Quote” feature

Truth, like light, blinds. Falsehood, on the contrary, is a beautiful twilight that enhances every object.
~Albert Camus

How true is this quote? To what I have been able to see and live, very. A lot of people find truth uncomfortable or aren’t happy to hear it. Personally, I consider the second black sheep of my family (my uncle being the first) and I’ve experienced this first hand with my aunt.

She was clearly unhappy to hear that I had been told of some commentary she made behind my back and that it had upset me greatly. I’m not a sensitive mush, but this one hurt a lot, so I made a point to speak to her directly and privately; cue me hearing later on that she had said that “I didn’t like her anymore”.

I wanted to scream at her, “Way to miss the point”, but I didn’t, bless my self restraint (otherwise I know I’d hurt my grandmother, who didn’t know of this little bitchy moment of mine). One of my greatest fault is honesty and I know on many cases it has made people uncomfortable, it will never cease to amaze me how some people will go out of their way to lie to themselves instead of facing the truth.

The truth can and will hurt in some cases, but, personally I’d rather hurt for a while than spend my life in self delusion. I have no time nor patience for that.

 

About Visenya Romanoff

What can I say? I am a mixed bag of everything, sprinkled with a tad of humor and a bit of fire and blood.
This entry was posted in Quotes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

