Rambling about the now Queen Letizia of Spain

First off, I need to say that I like Letizia. I’ve always have. Ever since she burst into the scene in the surprise engagement, I felt oddly giddy. Here was an heir to a throne marrying a woman who was smart, had lived and worked, was a good dresser and seemed deeply in love with him and vice versa.

But, of course, nothing is ever a fairy tale and Letizia’s story wasn’t to be. Every since then, she has face harsh and sometimes terrible criticism to a vitriolic level that I have never seen in any royal before.

She’s not good enough.

Before her marriage, I recall reading a “Vanidades” magazine and there was a column of a expert royal watcher talking about Felipe. I recall what he said about what Spaniards wanted for their future Queen: Someone like Sofia.

I also recall how he said that many people were very dismissive of Felipe’s previous girlfriend, a Norwegian model whose name escapes me presently. She was Felipe’s companion at Haakon and Mette-Marit’s wedding and I recall his words “She was seen as vulgar, holding a glass of scotch while everyone else was holding champagne. And that dress? Too Hollywood, specially with that low neckline.”

And then he said that he understood the pressure that Felipe had on him. He said that the people wanted “someone proper” but didn’t want another “Charles of England” situation to happen in Spain. Meaning, that Felipe had to marry someone proper, but avoiding the “War of the Wales” issue.

I felt a terrible pity for Felipe then and I felt sympathy towards any woman who married him because, at the end, she wouldn’t be seen as good enough.

And look, Letizia is a hard working woman who seems to be a devoted mother, who by all appearances, loves Felipe and works and, in my modest opinion, is someone Spain can be proud of. But of course, she’s not good enough.

She’s too thin, too badly dressed, too this, too that. I was throughly disgusted when her sister took her own life and pictures emerged of a grief stricken Letizia, and it downright sickened me that there were quiet hints that she was “taking too long” to mourn.

I once made the mistake of visiting a Spanish speaking forum once during the wedding of Guillaume of Luxembourg, I was unsurprised. Letizia according to the posters, was badly dressed, the hat too big and she was too thin.

All I’m going to say is this, I wish her strength now as Queen. I know she has Felipe on her side and for that, I am glad. She has and always be stuck in a permanent catch 22: Damn if you do, damn if you don’t.

So, my best wishes to their new Majesties. And this is just for Letizia, stay strong, you are awesome.

About Visenya Romanoff

What can I say? I am a mixed bag of everything, sprinkled with a tad of humor and a bit of fire and blood.
This entry was posted in Royal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rambling about the now Queen Letizia of Spain

  1. Matty says:

    Since the abdication and Felipe taking the throne there have been comparisons between Letizia and Kate Duchess of Cambridge. I don’t know if this was only in the British Press or not.

  2. Jojo says:

    I don’t know. I don’t share your same enthusiasm about Leti. She does have an eating disorder and I can’t pinpoint exactly what I don’t like about her… I mean, I like that she is an overachiever, etc., but there’s something… Love ur blog! 🙂

    • ‘Tis alright, we all can agree and disagree politely, can’t we?

      I’m not one to say ‘X person has an eating disorder’ because at the end of the day, only the person knows for sure. And as far as I can recall, she’s always been petite; I remember her struggling with the weight of her wedding gown.

      I don’t think she’s an overachiever, I think she’s a normal person who lived and worked in what she wanted to do and probably would still be working on it had she not fallen for Felipe.

      Understandable, I personally dislike the Kate Middleton & CP Mary, I can explain the first one, the second, not so much, it’s just a gut feeling I guess.

      And thank you, feel free to stop by any time and comment when you wish 🙂

Leave a Reply

