On ASOIAF

I think that by now, it’s clear that I’m a fan of the series. George R.R. Martin has created an exciting and interesting world filled with all kind of characters.

To say that I’ve probably over-analyze the books is an understatement, I’ve read them plenty of times and I’m currently re-reading Sansa’s chapters. She’s one of my favorites you see and I want to see if I missed something.

But what I like most about these books, it’s the humanity of the characters. What makes them tick, what makes them weak, what made them be the monsters some are and what got them into what they are doing.

I like seeing their thoughts, their fears, their anger. I like being in their brains, not because I like everyone, but because I can understand better, even those characters I dislike.

There are plenty of amazing people out there doing great analyses and I love most of them, even those I disagree with. I also enjoy finding George’s inspirations and submersions of themes, of how he plays with tropes and then makes them his own.

One of my particular favorites is Sansa’s story of how she ends up on the Eyre. In that little pieces, Sansa story echoes that of Persephone, but at the same time, she has a few things going on for her that Persephone didn’t had. And there is that curious thing with Ascalapus, which in one version of Persephone’s myth, plays a very important part.

Sansa and Petyr have an Ascalapus in their story. Someone who witnessed something more important than Sansa not eating a pomegranate.

All in all, it’s fascinating and I love it.

About Visenya Romanoff

What can I say? I am a mixed bag of everything, sprinkled with a tad of humor and a bit of fire and blood.
This entry was posted in Books, Fandom and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

