On the Twilight (book) Series

There’s something I have to say: I hate the Twilight Series (no, it’s not a saga people).

I read the first book at the insistence of my cousin, so I did. I figure that if any book would get her interested in reading must have something going for it. Oh hell was I wrong.

I wish I could properly describe the agony that was reading that book, but all I really need to say, is this: the moment I ended it, I hit the internet and searched “Twilight Sucks”, blessed be, I found the forum.

The forum of which I’ve been an active member of several years. We’ve analyzed and dissected the series more times that we can tell. And while it’s true that plenty of people asked “If you hate it, why do you read it?”, my answer was always this: So I can know what I’m talking about.

Bella and Edward were hailed as the perfect couple, every single non “vampire” on the book was mostly one dimensional and some sort of clichĂ©. I still haven’t forgiven Meyer for that “chess club nerd” description.

I ended reading the four books (from the library, Meyer wasn’t getting my money) and the leaked part of what would’ve been the fifth in the series. Midnight Sun was all Edward and his point of view, I ended that book abhorring Edward more than what I already did.

Of course, many fans accused us of being ‘jealous’ of not having someone like Edward in our life, but honestly, if you read carefully, Edward’s not really the catch he is made to be: He break into Bella’s room to watch her sleep (he gets oil so her windows won’t make a sound), he stalks her, her follows all thoughts about her (because, Bella our special snowflake, is someone whom Edward can’t read her mind). And when things get ugly, he dumps her on the forest.

He literally leaves her in the middle of the forest and leaves, Bella of course, is so upset she ends up curled into a ball. Her father has to start a search group. And Bella goes suicidal, she literally starts putting her life at risk just so she can hear Edward’s voice in her head. Of course, when a misunderstanding happens and Edward tries to commit suicide, it’s because of “true love”.

When they’re back together, he tries to stop her from seeing her friend for “security reasons”. The man literally dismantles her freaking car so she won’t be able to go. Just stop and think about that for a second.

There are so many things wrong with this series, that is frightening to think that this is what people think love should be. I don’t want an Edward Cullen in my life. As a matter of fact, I wouldn’t want to have anyone of this series on my life.

(As an aside note, this rant is due me finding my old essays I wrote against several issues on this series.)

About Visenya Romanoff

What can I say? I am a mixed bag of everything, sprinkled with a tad of humor and a bit of fire and blood.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

